Does anybody know if “Word of Blog” is at all legitimate (you can get to it via wordofblog dot net — I don’t want to link to them for now)? I got email from them today asking for a link to them for Recovery 2.0, which is cool and something I support, but I’d really rather not support somebody collecting links to sell ads or whatever. Can anybody vouch for them? Jeff Jarvis, are you out there? Are these folks legit?
Most of the groups on the site seem to be pretty typical leftist pap — “Impeach Bush” and the like (I’m all for the left, and my opinion of our president is fairly negative, but for cryin’ out loud you can’t impeach somebody just because you don’t like them). I’d feel a lot better about this site if more of the people using it made sense….
3 responses to “Word of Blog?”
I was kind of suspicious, too, but Fred Wilson likes them ( http://avc.blogs.com/avc/2005/10/wordofblogco.html ), and I started using them, and I like them, too. I didn’t realize they were sending out e-mails asking people to use their buttons, though. I’m not so sure that sounds good at all.
Yeah, it was weird. The email basically said “hey, you talked about Recovery 2.0. How’s about a link?” I guess I’d feel a whole lot better about this sort of thing if the link were direct instead of bouncing through word of blog’s servers.
I think I’ll just put a link to Recovery 2.0 on the site. Easier….
I don’t konw who emailed you; it sounds like someone wanted to just follow the link to check it out — link etiquette and all that. Recovery 2.0 is just what it appears to be: a very small group of people came together for a meeting to discuss making this better and we’ll see where it goes.